劳资新规:首期“保就业”(ESS)补贴计划即将开放申请

  下载 PDF


政府最近就“保就业”(Employment Support Scheme – ESS)计划进行了更详细说明,并扩大了计划范围。

  1. ESS首期补贴申请定于2020年5月25日至2020年6月14日开放。ESS第二期申请详情尚未公布。
  2. 在2020年3月31日或之前设立强制性公积金(“强积金”)账户或已成为《职业退休计划条例》(“ORSO”)相关计划成员的所有雇主(例外情况除外,如政府组织)均有资格申请首期ESS补贴。在确定资格时不得回溯日期。
  3. 合资格的雇主可以为从事私人项目工作但由政府资助工资的雇员申请ESS补贴,前提是该雇员工资并非全部由政府出资。然而,雇主必须为相关雇员进行过强积金供款,或为其设立ORSO计划。
  4. 雇主可根据集成信托计划和行业计划为正规雇员(18至65岁)和65岁或以上的雇员申请工资补贴。但雇主不得为临时雇员(年龄在18至65岁之间且按日受雇从事餐饮或建筑业工作的雇员,或固定工作时间不足60天的雇员)提出申请。
  5. 为简化行政程序,雇主必须授权政府委任的ESS处理代理人(“代理人”)和强积金受托人。在授权之后,强积金受托人将把强积金记录证明直接转给代理人。
  6. 申请ESS首期补贴的雇主应选择2019年12月至2020年3月之间的任何一个月份作为所有雇员的“指定月份”。“指定月份”的雇员人数及其各自工资将作为计算基础。这将包括已受雇但目前正在休无薪假或半薪假的雇员。工资补贴为雇员实际工资(上限为18,000港元)的50%,即每名雇员每月最多9,000港元。有关65岁或65岁以上的雇员,如果雇主在为该雇员进行强积金供款时没有提供有关个人基本工资的信息,工资补贴则会按雇主在“指定月份”为该雇员进行的自愿性供款乘以10倍作计算,每名雇员每月上限为9,000港元。但每位雇主可获得的补贴总额就没有上限。
  7. 应注意的是,就ESS而言,不允许对相关的强积金供款数据进行任何更改。
  8. 申请ESS的雇主在进行在线申请时必须做出以下承诺:
    (a)在补贴期间不进行裁员;以及
    (b)将所有工资补贴用于支付雇员工资。
  9. 补贴只能用于工资支付,不得用于其他费用或慈善捐款。如果雇主在收到首期ESS款项后,未能在三个月补贴期(2020年6月至2020年8月)内使用当月收到的所有工资补贴来支付雇员工资,政府就会收回未使用的补贴余额。此外,如果补贴期间任何一个月内领工资的雇员人数少于2020年3月有薪或无薪雇员人数,雇主将受到政府处罚。申请人还会因作出虚假陈述而承担法律责任。
  10. 预计政府将建立ESS下的监控和评估机制,以筛查并跟进涉及滥用和侵权的案件。促进透明度的一些措施包括公布获得补贴的雇主名单、受益雇员人数和补贴金额。公众和雇员均可向有关部门举报违规行为。
  11. 虽然政府希望在补贴期间不降低工资,但ESS并不禁止降薪。
  12. 自雇人士如若在2020年3月31日或之前开设强积金账户,且在该日前未被终止,则有资格申请一笔一次性的 7,500 港元补贴。

评论

ESS可能有助于让濒临裁员的雇员留住工作。收到补贴的雇主将受到公众监督,维护问责权益。这可能会导致某些雇主不愿申请ESS补贴。预计政府将于下周公布首期补贴的申请程序和处罚详情。有关ESS的更多更新,请关注我们。

查看我们往期关于ESS的执业指南,请点击此处此处

关于ESS及其他劳资法律相关的问题,请联系尹安琦(andrearandall@gallhk.com / +852 3405 7688)。

联系人 :

安琦 (Andrea Randall) 合伙人
+852 3405 7630
andrearandall@gallhk.com

柯蒂嘉 (Kritika Sethia) 法律分析师
Tel +852 3405 7654
kritikasethia@gallhk.com

Employment Update: First Tranche of the Employment Support Scheme (ESS) set to Open for Applications

   Download PDF


The Government has recently provided more clarity on the Employment Support Scheme (“ESS”) and expanded its scope. 

  1. The application for the first tranche of the ESS is scheduled to open on 25 May 2020 until 14 June 2020. The application details for the second tranche of the ESS is yet to be announced.
  2. All employers (subject to exceptions such as Government organizations) who on or before 31 March 2020  have set up Mandatory Provident Fund (“MPF”) accounts or have become members of relevant schemes under the Occupational Retirement Schemes Ordinance (“ORSO”) are eligible to apply for the first tranche of the ESS. Backdating for the purposes of eligibility is not permitted. 
  3. An eligible employer may apply for the ESS subsidy in relation to government-funded staff who work for private projects so long as their salaries are not fully funded by the Government. However, the employer must have made MPF contributions for the relevant employees or ORSO schemes must have been set up for them.
  4. Employers can apply for wage subsidies in respect of regular employees (18 to 65 years of age) and employees aged 65 or above under Master Trust Schemes and Industry Schemes. However, employers cannot make applications with respect to casual employees (employees between 18 to 65 years of age and employed on a day-to-day basis in the catering or construction industries or employed for a fixed period of less than 60 days). 
  5. In order to streamline administrative procedures, the employers are required to authorise the Government appointed ESS processing agent (“Agent”) and the MPF trustees. Being so authorized, the MPF trustee would forward the MPF record certificates to the Agent directly.
  6. Employers who apply for the first tranche of the ESS are to choose any one month between December 2019 to March 2020 as the “specified month” for all employees. The number of employees and their respective wages in the “specified month” will be the basis of calculation. This would include employees who were employed but are currently on no-pay leave or half-pay leave. The wage subsidy would be 50% of the actual wages of the employee (capped at $18,000), i.e. a maximum of HK$9,000 per employee per month. In relation to employees aged 65 or above if the employer has not provided information on the basic salary of the individual employees when making MPF contributions for them, the wage subsidy will be calculated by multiplying the amount of the employer’s voluntary contribution for the relevant employee in the “specified month” by 10 times, subject to a cap of HK$9,000 per month per employee. However, there is no upper limit on the total amount of subsidy that each employer can receive.
  7. It should be noted that no changes to the relevant MPF contribution data will be allowed for the purposes of the ESS. 
  8. Employers applying for the ESS will be required to provide the following undertakings at the time of making the online application:
    a) not to implement redundancy during the subsidy period; and
    b) to spend all the wage subsidies on paying wages to their employees. 
  9. The subsidy must be used towards wage payment only and cannot be applied towards other expenses or charitable donations. If an employer receives the first tranche of the ESS payment and fails to use all the wage subsidies received for the particular month during the three month subsidy period (June to August 2020) to pay the wages of the employees in the same month, the Government will claw back the unspent balance of the subsidy. Further, if the employees on the payroll in any one month of the subsidy period is less than the number of  paid or unpaid staff in March 2020, the employer will be penalised by the Government. Applicants will also be held legally liable for making false statements.
  10. Monitoring and assessment mechanisms are expected to be established under the ESS to screen and follow up on cases involving abuse and violations. Some of the measures to generate transparency include publication of the list of employers who have received the subsidies, total number of employees benefited and the amount of subsidies. Violations are liable to be reported to relevant authorities by members of public and the employees.
  11. Though the Government expects that wages should not be reduced during the subsidy period, such reduction is not prohibited under the ESS.
  12. Self-employed persons who have set up an MPF account on or before 31 March 2020 and which have not been terminated by that date, are eligible to apply for a one-off lump sum subsidy of HK$ 7,500.

Comments

The ESS is likely to encourage job retention for employees who could otherwise be made redundant. An employer who receives the subsidy would be under public scrutiny in the interests of accountability. This may be a deterrent for employers to apply for the ESS subsidy. In the coming week, the Government is expected to announce details of the application process for the first tranche and the penalties. For further updates on the ESS, please watch this space.

To view our previous practice notes on the ESS please click here and here.

For further information in relation to the ESS and other employment law related matters, please do not hesitate to contact Andrea Randall (andrearandall@gallhk.com / +852 3405 7688).

Contacts

Andrea Randall, Partner
Tel +852 3405 7630
andrearandall@gallhk.com

Kritika Sethia, Legal Analyst 
Tel +852 3405 7654
kritikasethia@gallhk.com