无偿援助

参与无偿援助让我们的律师有机会运用法律知识帮助他人,并为社会做出切实可见的改变。我们为难以求助于司法的人们提供免费的法律咨询。我们的无偿援助主要向通过其他渠道难以获得相关法律咨询的个人和/或组织提供劳资法和家庭法方面的咨询服务。

我们相信,人人都能使用的法律制度方可维护每个人的利益。

举例来说,无偿援助包括:

  • 通过 PathFinders(为香港极端弱势儿童及移民母亲提供支持的非政府组织)提供的一起 法律咨询,其中父亲是巴基斯坦国籍的香港永久居民,母亲是印度尼西亚的家庭女佣,孩子在香港出生。家庭事务法庭驳回了母亲一方关于父母身份认定书的申请,因为这位母亲无法找到父亲一方进行 DNA 亲子鉴定。母亲提出上诉,上诉法院发现家庭法庭的法官不当地过分强调了缺乏亲子鉴定这一因素。上诉法院批准了上诉,并宣布了父母身份的认定书。
  • PiLNet(一家国际非政府组织,致力于通过充分发挥法律的力量来促进社会的变革)- 为员工和承包商当前的劳资合同文件提供法律建议,这些劳资合同文件包括雇佣信、雇佣信修正模板、学生实习安排草案和志愿者安排草案等。
  • CareER(为高学历残疾人士及有意招聘的雇主提供工作配对服务的非政府组织)- 为CareER团队提供诉讼方面的法律支援,以增强他们对于合同关系的法律知识。
  • Mind HK (一所 S88 认可,致力改善香港对精神健康的认知和了解的慈善机构) – 就Mind HK的COVID-19 精神健康援助计划和Blue Tie Ball基金提供了免费法律支援和意见。

Pro Bono Work

Getting involved in pro bono work gives our lawyers the chance to share their legal knowledge and to make a tangible difference. We provide free legal advice to those who are unable to readily access justice. Our pro bono activities have focused primarily on providing employment law and family law advice to individuals and/or organisations that would otherwise not be able to receive such counsel.

We believe that everyone benefits when the legal system is accessible to all.

Examples of pro bono work include:

  • PathFinders (an NGO supporting some of the most vulnerable children in Hong Kong and their migrant mothers) – legal advice provided to an Indonesian domestic helper who had a child born in Hong Kong to the father, a Pakistani national and HK permanent resident. The Family Court dismissed the mother’s application for a declaration as to parentage as she was unable to locate the father to obtain a DNA paternity test. The mother appealed and the Court of Appeal found that the Family Court Judge haderred in placing too much emphasis on the lack of paternity tests. The Courtof Appeal allowed the appeal and granted the declaration of parentage.
  • PiLNet (an international NGO that creates opportunities for social change by unlocking law’s full potential) – legal advice provided on staff and contractors’ current employment contracts including Employment Letters, Employment Letter Amendment Templates, draft Student Intern Arrangements and draft Volunteer Arrangements.
  • CareER (an NGO focused on job-matching higher educated persons with disabilities with inclusive employers) – legal support on litigation to enhance CareER team’s legal knowledge on contractual relationships.