黄启智 (Chris Wong)

执行合伙人

执业领域:

 

黄律师为本律师事务所中国大陆涉港案件法律实务负责人。

黄律师精于各种企业和商业纠纷,尤其擅长复杂的多地域纠纷、诈欺和资产追偿、争议性破产事务和公司清盘、接管、股东和合资纠纷、博彩纠纷、不当销售金融产品、网络犯罪、审计疏忽索赔、香港证监会和廉政公署调查、雇佣纠纷、司法复核等。他在协助本地或者境外仲裁及法院审理程序中,向香港法庭申请禁制令,和申请信息披露(包括Norwich Pharmacal的申请)方面拥有极其丰富的经验。他在香港为许多中国大陆公司或个人提供法律意见,或针对中国大陆公司或个人采取法律行动。

黄律师在伦敦大学(Kings College London)获得法律学士学位。 他在香港、英格兰和威尔斯获得执业律师的许可。黄律师精通英语、广东话及普通话。

黄律师的执业经验包括:

  • 代表某中国石油及天然气企业处理金额超过5亿美元、涉及4个司法管辖区(香港、中国大陆、英属维京群岛和开曼群岛)及7组香港仲裁/法院程序的跨境纠纷;
  • 代表某家在纽约证交所上市的太阳能公司董事长,就其个人及公司超过20亿美元的债务提供香港法律意见;
  • 代表某位中国最著名的女企业家,处理和世界上某一最大的私募基金之间就有关达8亿美元的纠纷。 本案涉及虚假陈述,包含仲裁、禁制令程序 (HCMP 473-474/2015)、藐视法庭程序(HCMP 585-586/2017)以及其他管辖区相关的法律程序;
  • 代表中国大陆某房地产开发商大股东(涉及设立于开曼群岛、英属维京群岛及中国大陆的多家公司)就多宗债务/股权挂钩抵押文件下的5亿美元债务案中,提供香港法律意见;
  • 代表某香港公司大股东处理与其他股东及家庭成员之间就公司控制权而产生的纠纷,这家香港公司为一日本上市公司的主要股东(冈田控股有限公司,HCMP 1324/2017及HCMP 2446/2017)。 本次代理涉及了申请强制性禁制令以限制股东权利;
  • 代表某四大国际会计师事务所作为法庭任命的接管人及经理人接管一家香港公司, 案件源于中国大陆、英国和香港三地的司法程序,并包括复杂的司法礼让原则和第21M条申请禁制令等问题(HCMP 1449/2014, CACV 243/2014);
  • 代表某《财富》500强企业中排名前10的公司,就有关可再生能源行业一项超过3亿美元的申诉申请禁制令,以协助针对某中国上市企业的仲裁程序;
  • 代表国际银行和企业,在诈欺和资产追讨的诉讼案,以及网络犯罪案件中作单方面的禁制令申请;
  • 代表某超高净值人士,根据第21M条申请禁制令,以协助其在美国加州法院进行的索赔金额达5400万美元的诉讼案件(HCMP 3072/2014, CACV 189/2015);
  • 代表某香港全球市场领先的渔业公司处理与诸多隶属公司的法律问题, 事项包括股东争议、不公平损害呈请、和信息披露程序;
  • 代表某上市公司临时清算人向某一四大会计师事务所就审计疏忽提出约4亿港币的赔偿申索,并成功获得法院许可关于诉讼基金安排提供律师费以支持申索;
  • 代表一家私募基金就4千万美元违约款项向另一家私募基金提出申索, 本案涉及争议资产为一位于中国大陆的酒店。 代理事项包括仲裁、介入法庭程序的申请、和法院任命的接管人的公正性等相关事宜;
  • 代表某中国大陆超高净值人士依据联合国国际贸易法委员会相关规则,就1千5百万欧元违约金向被申请人(通过一家法兰克福证交所上市公司)在香港国际仲裁中心申请仲裁。本案所涉及业务是为中国政府机构和本地企业的制服供应高端纱纺织品和衬衫设计;
  • 代表某一世界最大的出版和金融信息公司对其前员工提起的误述和同谋欺诈指控进行辩护 (HCA 349/2011);
  • 代表多位债权人对中国山水投资有限公司(为香港上市公司中国山水水泥集团有限公司主要股东之一)提起清盘呈请,涉及债权总金额约4千万美元(HCCW 398/2015);
  • 代表合资企业的股东处理合资纠纷,该企业从事于中国分销与销售已获认证之有机护肤与化妆产品;代表一家全球性美国赌场和度假公司追讨博彩债务;
  • 代表某一台湾最大的证券投资公司针对某全球性银行机构,就雷曼兄弟迷你债券提出涉及5亿港币的申索;
  • 代表Global Merchant Funding Limited对某些交易及安排在《放债人条例》规定中是否属于“借贷”性质,在终审法院对香港律政司司长处理上诉(FACC 4/2015);
  • 代表某人士对美国一基金关于虚假陈述案件所进行的长达9天的审理作出抗辩,涉案索赔金额约1千6百万美元(HCA 503/2012);
  • 代表某些高净值人士和公司就某些全球性银行不当销售投资产品事宜,向监管机构香港金融管理局和香港证监会提出涉及数千万美元的申索/投诉;
  • 代表呈请人/债权人和应诉人/债务人,处理涉及金额庞大的破产及清盘案件及当中衍生的违反董事责任申索;
  • 代表某高净值人士,对某香港上市公司展开数千万港元的合约诉讼,该案件于香港终审法院审理完结;
  • 代表LG化学(韩国最大的上市化工公司)对汇丰银行提起侵权申索(HCA 842/2016);
  • 代表多家总部设在韩国的全球性公司处理涉及欺诈的案件,并就盗用资金以及不当使用机密信息等方面展开调查;
  • 代表一家香港上市公司对抗债权人提起的清盘呈请, 代理事务中包括在呈请中替换债权人(HCCW 122/2012);
  • 代表亚洲一位最杰出的银行家和一家大型经纪公司应对证监会调查;
  • 代表某杰出商界女企业家,处理香港廉政公署的调查;并代表她申请司法复核,寻求将有关她的审讯,从地区法院由一名法官单独审理,改为在高等法院由陪审团审理。

黄律师的经验还包括代表中国公司/个人参加基于 HKIAC、UNCITRAL、ICC和 CIETAC 规则进行的高价值仲裁。他在向高等法院申请撤销仲裁裁决方面也拥有丰富的经验。

黄律师定期在由香港会计师公会举办的清盘破产课程中授课,教授有关清盘和破产的课题。

Chris Wong

Executive Partner

Practice Area(s):

 

Chris is the firm’s practice leader of PRC related cases under Hong Kong law.

Chris specialises in a broad range of corporate and commercial dispute work, with particular emphasis on complex multi-jurisdictional disputes, fraud and asset recovery, contentious insolvency and bankruptcy, receiverships, shareholders and joint venture disputes, gaming disputes, mis-selling of financial products, cybercrime, audit negligence claims, SFC and ICAC investigations, employment disputes, and judicial review. He has substantial experience in injunction applications, and discovery (including Norwich Pharmacal) applications, in aid of domestic/foreign arbitrations and Court proceedings. He acts for and against numerous mainland Chinese and foreign companies/individuals in their disputes.

Chris obtained his LLB at Kings College London. He is admitted as a solicitor in Hong Kong and England and Wales. Chris is fluent in English, Cantonese and Mandarin.

Chris’ experience includes:

  • representing an oil and gas PRC enterprise in a cross-border dispute valued in excess of USD350 million involving 7 sets of arbitration/Court proceedings in Hong Kong, the PRC, BVI and the Cayman Islands;
  • representing the Chairman of a solar company listed on the New York Stock Exchange in Court proceedings in relation to his/company’s debt obligations exceeding USD2 billion;
  • representing one of the most prominent businesswomen in the PRC in a USD280 million dispute with one of the largest private equity firms in the world. The matter relates to claims for fraudulent misrepresentation, and involves arbitrations, injunction proceedings (HCMP 473-474/2015), contempt proceedings (HCMP 585-586/2017), and proceedings in other jurisdictions;
  • representing the majority shareholder of a PRC property developer (with companies incorporated in the Cayman Islands, BVI and the PRC) in Court proceedings in relation to its USD550 million debt obligations under various debt/equity-linked security documents;
  • representing a major shareholder in a shareholders/family dispute in which they vie for control over a Hong Kong company which holds a majority shareholding in a Japanese company listed on the Japanese Stock Exchange (Re Okada Holdings Ltd, HCMP 1324/2017). The matter involves mandatory injunctions seeking to restrain shareholders rights;
  • representing a Big Four accounting firm who were the Court-appointed Receivers and Managers of a Hong Kong company. The matter arises from legal proceedings commenced in the PRC, the UK and Hong Kong, involving novel and complicated issues regarding the principle of judicial comity and s. 21M injunctions (HCMP 1449/2014, CACV 243/2014);
  • representing one of the top 10 Fortune 500 companies in an injunction application in aid of arbitration proceedings against a listed PRC company in a claim over USD300 million in the renewable energy sector;
  • representing international banking corporations and companies in ex parte injunction applications in fraud and asset recovery actions and cybercrime matters;
  • representing an ultra-high net worth individual in respect of s.21M injunction proceedings in aid of California Court proceedings in relation to a claim of USD54 million (HCMP 3072/2014, CACV 189/2015);
  • representing a Hong Kong company holding a large group of subsidiaries operating as the global market leader in the fisheries industry. The matter involves a shareholders dispute, unfair prejudice petitions, and discovery proceedings;
  • representing provisional liquidators of a listed company in an audit negligence claim of around HKD400 million against a Big 4 accounting firm, and obtaining leave from the Court to enter into a funding arrangement with a litigation funder to pursue such claim;
  • representing a private equity fund in a USD40 million breach of contract claim against another private equity fund. The underlying asset of the dispute is a hotel situated in the PRC. The matter involves an arbitration, an application to intervene in Court proceedings, and issues concerning the impartiality of a Court-appointed receiver;
  • representing an ultra-high net worth PRC individual in a EUR15 million breach of contract claim against respondents (which operate through a company listed on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange) to a HKIAC arbitration under the UNCITRAL rules relating to supplying high-end yarn fabrics and shirts designed for uniforms for Chinese government institutions and local enterprises;
  • representing one of the largest publishing and financial information firm in the world in defending a claim by a former employee for alleged misrepresentation and conspiracy to defraud (HCA 349/2011);
  • representing creditors in a winding-up petition presented against China Shanshui Investment Co. Ltd. (being one of the major shareholders of China Shanshui Cement Group Co. Ltd. listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange) in relation to debts in the total sum of around USD40 million (HCCW 398/2015);
  • representing shareholders in a joint venture dispute in respect of the distribution and sale in the PRC of certified organic skincare and cosmetic products;
  • representing a global American casino and resort company in pursuing gaming debts;
  • representing one of the largest securities investment companies in Taiwan in a HKD500 million dollar claim by a global banking institution in relation to the Lehman Brothers minibonds;
  • representing Global Merchant Funding Limited against the Secretary for Justice in an appeal to the Court of Final Appeal concerning whether certain transactions and arrangements fell within the definition of “loan” under the Money Lenders Ordinance (FACC 4/2015);
  • representing an individual in a claim of around USD16 million by a US fund for fraudulent misrepresentation in a 9-day trial (HCA 503/2012);
  • representing high net worth individuals and companies in multimillion dollar claims, and in making regulatory complaints to the Hong Kong Monetary Authority and SFC, against global banking corporations for mis-selling investment products;
  • representing petitioners/creditors and respondents/debtors in high value insolvency and bankruptcy matters and claims concerning breach of directors’ duties;
  • representing a high net worth individual in a multi-million dollar claim against a HK listed company in respect of funds received by it (the case concluded at the Court of Final Appeal);
  • representing LG Chem Ltd. (the largest chemical company listed in South Korea) in a tort claim against HSBC (HCA 842/2016);
  • representing a number of global companies headquartered in South Korea in respect of fraud, and investigations involving the misappropriation of funds and use of confidential information;
  • representing a Hong Kong listed company in a winding-up petition presented against it by creditors. The matter includes issues concerning substitution of supporting creditor in such petition (HCCW 122/2012);
  • representing one of the most prominent bankers in Asia and a large Hong Kong brokerage firm in respect of SFC investigations;
  • representing a prominent Hong Kong businesswoman in ICAC investigations and an application for judicial review in which she sought to have a trial by jury in the High Court rather than by a judge sitting alone in the District Court.

Chris experience also includes representing PRC and foreign based companies/individuals in high-value arbitrations conducted under the HKIAC, UNCITRAL, ICC and CIETAC Rules. He also has substantial experience in respect of applications to the High Court to set aside arbitral awards.

Chris regularly teaches in the Insolvency Preparatory Course organised by the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants on topics relating to liquidation and bankruptcy.