在新冠肺炎疫情期间管理香港年假

下载 PDF

新冠肺炎疫情为企业带来了许多挑战。严格而持续的旅遊限制以及其他不确定因素导致了许多员工未能休假,因此剩下了大量累积但未取的年假。这给了許多机构带来了潜在的风险。因而当疫情情况缓和时,很多员工都会请为期比较长或比较频繁的假期以報消年假,生产率必会受到影响。同样地,如果大量员工决定在特定时间或高峰时期休假,风险管理能力也可能会受到损害。因此,雇主需要考虑如何避免风险和“堵塞”而又不侵犯员工的权利。特别是,如果有必要,他们是否可以要求员工请假或放弃年假?

在香港,年假分为两类:

(i) 法定年假

法定年假是根据《雇佣条例》所规定。在工作一年之后,雇员有权在第二年获得已累积的七天的法定年假。这权利随着服务年资的增加将增加到十四天。

(ii) 合约年假

许多雇主提供的年假会超过最低法定年假,通常被称为合约年假,并根据雇佣合约的具体条款(包括如有公司年假政策)进行监管。但是如果雇佣合约不能区分合约年假和法定年假,合约年假则很可能会按照《雇佣条例》的规定去处理。

雇主可以要求雇员休年假吗?

关于法定假期,雇主可以发出至少14天(如果雇员同意的话,为期天数可以更少)的书面通知去指示该雇员休年假。但是,雇主不能在累积法定假日的那一年做出这样的指示。因此,这项权利可能有助于管理和清算2020年累积的假期,但2021年的假期要直到明年才适用。

关于合约年假,雇主要求雇员休假的能力由合约条款决定。雇主可以依据任何特定的条款来决定雇员何时以及如何休年假。但是如果没有明确的条款,公司应避免单方面指令雇员休假。也就是说,如果法定假期和合约年假之间没有明显区别及《雇佣条例》也适用,雇主则仍然可以使用14天书面通知的途径。

未使用的年假可以被没收吗?

法定假期是不能被没收的。未休的法定假期必须带往到下一年,或者在某些有限的情况下以付相等的薪資的型式取替,但这是一种昂贵的选择。

但是在有(明显区别的)合约年假的情况下,雇主可以自由遵守有关合约条款的规定。例如,这可能包括有关合约年假有上限或不能帶到下一年的政策,以及在特定情况下自动放弃合约年假的权利。

策略与处理方法

年假是员工享有的重要特权。因此雇主在考虑可用的策略时,需要以严格又具备灵敏度的方法解决“积压”问题。

首先,雇主应清楚了解其雇员的情况:审查雇用合约和年假政策以确定雇员有多少年假以及合约年假是否有特定的权利和条件,并更新和检查人力资源记录以计算准确的权利。这对于设定最佳方法和保持员工的信任至关重要。

与员工保持清晰的沟通和合理的态度也是避免不信任和纠纷的关键。年假的基本目的之一和法定假期的最低限度主要是促进和维持员工的身心健康,并允许其与家人在一起的时间,这也是在一年之中定期休息的明确理由。

这些核心信息可以包含在与员工的任何有关休假或清除“积压”年假的信息中。即使雇主最终无法指示员工休年假(取决于类型和适用条款) ,雇主仍然可以鼓励员工休年假,。此外,对于可能会丧失的合约年假,公司的定期提醒或许会激励員工提前安排休假计划。

*本文最初由Human Resources Online发布

联系人

Matthew Durham, 注册外地律师
+852 3405 7688
matthewdurham@gallhk.com 

柯蒂嘉 (Kritika Sethia) , 法律分析师
+852 3405 7654
kritikasethia@gallhk.com

Managing Annual Leave in Hong Kong During COVID-19

Download PDF

The COVID-19 pandemic has thrown up many challenges for businesses. Severe and sustained travel restrictions, as well as other uncertainties, have resulted in many employees not taking time off and thus having significant accrued but untaken annual leave entitlements. This creates potential risk for companies. Productivity may be affected if employees all take extended or frequent breaks to use up rolled over leave when the situation eases. Similarly, risk management capability may be undermined if a large number of employees decide to take their leave at specific or peak times. So employers need to consider how to avoid risk and “log-jams” without breaching employee rights. In particular, if necessary, can they require employees to take or to forfeit annual leave?

In Hong Kong, there are two categories of annual leave:

(i) Statutory Annual Leave

Statutory annual leave is prescribed by the provisions of the Employment Ordinance (”EO”). After the first year of employment an employee is entitled to seven days of statutory annual leave in the year following its accrual. This entitlement increases with years of service to fourteen days.

(ii) Contractual Annual Leave

Many employers provide annual leave in excess of the statutory minimum which is generally known as contractual annual leave and is regulated based on the specific terms of the employment contract (including the company annual leave policy, if any). However, if the employment contract does not distinguish between contractual and statutory annual leave, the contractual annual leave is likely to be treated in line with the requirements in the EO.

Can Employers Require Employees to take Annual Leave?

In relation to statutory annual leave, an employer may, by giving a written notice of at least 14 days (or less, if agreed with the employee) direct an employee to take annual leave. However, the employer cannot make such a direction in the year in which the statutory annual leave accrues. Accordingly, this right may be helpful for managing and clearing leave accrued in 2020, but will not apply to 2021 leave until next year.

In relation to contractual annual leave, the ability of an employer to require an employee to take this leave is determined by the contractual terms. An employer can rely on any specific terms regarding when and how the annual leave should be taken. In the absence of clear terms, however, companies should avoid a unilateral direction to take leave. That said, if there is no clear distinction between the statutory and contractual annual leave and the EO applies, employers could still use the 14 days’ notice route.

Can Unused Annual Leave be Forfeited?

Statutory annual leave cannot be forfeited. Untaken statutory annual leave must be rolled over to the following year or, in certain limited circumstances, may be paid out, but this is an expensive option.

In the case of contractual annual leave (where clearly distinguished), however, the employer is free to follow the relevant provisions of the contract. This may include, for example, a capped or no carry forward policy in respect of contractual annual leave and the right to forfeit untaken contractual annual leave in specific circumstances.

Strategies and Approaches

Annual leave is an important and prized entitlement of employees. As such, employers need to tackle the issue of “backlogs” with both rigour and sensitivity when considering what strategies are available to them.

Firstly, employers should be clear about the situation for their staff: review employment contracts and annual leave policies to be clear about how much leave employees have and whether specific rights and conditions apply to contractual annual leave; and update and check HR records to calculate accurate entitlements. This is vital for devising the best approach and maintaining the trust of employees.

Clear communication with employees and consistency of approach is also key to avoid mis-trust and disputes. One of the underlying purposes of annual leave and a primary reason for having minimum thresholds of statutory annual leave is to promote and maintain employees’ physical and mental wellbeing, as well as to allow time with family and on external pursuits. As such, there should be a clear rationale for taking periodic breaks during the course of the year.


These are core messages which can be included in any communications to staff regarding taking or clearing “backlogs” of annual leave. An employer can still encourage staff to take annual leave, even if it ultimately cannot direct employees to do so (depending on the type and applicable terms). In addition, for contractual annual leave which may be forfeited if not taken, periodic reminders from the company will likely incentivise them to do so and to plan ahead.

*This article was first published by Human Resources Online

Contacts

Matthew Durham, Registered Foreign Lawyer
Tel +852 3405 7688
matthewdurham@gallhk.com 

Kritika Sethia, Legal Analyst
Tel +852 3405 7654
kritikasethia@gallhk.com