雇佣新规:陪产假增加至5天

高嘉力雇佣执业详细介绍雇佣条例第 57章(EO)规定的新修内容,香港陪产假从三天增加 至五天

2018年雇佣(修订)(第3号)条例(修订条例)于2018年11月2日刊憲。根据《修订条例》,雇佣条例第57章 (EO) 规定的法定陪产假将从三天增加至五天。

自《修订条例》生效之日起,符合条件的男性员工在子女出生时有权享受最多五天陪产假。在配偶或伴侣每次分娩产子之时,符合以下条件的男性员工可享受陪产假:-

(a)该员工为新生儿或待产儿的父亲;

(b)该员工已签订连续雇佣合同;及

(c)该员工履行相关的通知要求,提前通知雇主。

已连续雇佣至少四周、每周至少工作18小时的员工视为已签订EO所规定的连续雇佣合同。

根据通知要求,雇主可要求符合条件的男性员工提供已签字的书面声明,注明该员工是孩子的父亲以及孩子母亲的姓名和预产期或孩子的实际分娩日期。

符合条件的男性员工有权在预产期之前4周至分娩日期之后10周期间请休陪产假。这五天的陪产假期可一次休完,也可分开请休。

要获得带薪陪产假的资格,员工在请假前必须已被连续雇佣至少40周,同时还需向雇主提交符合要求的手续文件。陪产假薪水应为员工常薪的五分之四。陪产假不占用员工所享受的休息日、公共假期和年假。

《修订条例》的生效日期由劳工及福利局局长确定,预计最早将于农历新年生效。

有关香港陪产假以及其他雇佣法律的更多信息,请联系我们的事务律师。

 

联系人:

尹安琦 (Andrea Randall), 合伙人
电话 +852 3405 7630
andrearandall@gallhk.com

王天惠 (Joni Wong), 律师
Tel +852 3405 7616
joniwong@gallhk.com
 
本文中包含的所有资料仅供一般参考,不应视为针对特定事实或情况的法律、会计、财务或税务建议或意见,在此方面不可以之为据行事。因依赖本文所含信息作为或不作为而直接或间接引起的任何损失或损害,高嘉力律师行概不承担责任。敦请您就自身实际情况以及可能遇到的具体法律问题寻求专门的法律建议。若存在劳动法相关问题,欢迎随时联系尹安琦(andrearandall@gallhk.com / +852 3405 7688)、王天惠(joniwong@gallhk.com / +852 3405 7616)或 张蔚深(wilsoncheung@gallhk.com / +852 3405 7658)进行咨询。

Employment Update: Increase of Paternity Leave to Five Days

Gall’s employment practice details the recent amendment to the Employment Ordinance Cap. 57 (“EO”), increasing paternity leave in Hong Kong from three days to five days.

The Employment (Amendment) (No. 3) Ordinance 2018 (“Amendment Ordinance”) was gazetted on 2 November 2018. Under the Amendment Ordinance, the statutory paternity leave under the Employment Ordinance Cap. 57 (“EO”) will increase from three days to five days.

An eligible male employee will be entitled to take up to five days of paternity leave in respect of a child born on or after the commencement date of the Amendment Ordinance. For each confinement of his spouse or partner, a male employee will be eligible where:-

(a) he is the father of a new born child or an expecting father;
(b) he has been employed under a continuous contract; and
(c) he has informed the employer according to the notification requirements.

An employee who has been continuously employed for at least four weeks and for at least 18 hours each week by the same employer is considered to be employed under a continuous contract under the EO.

As part of the notification requirements, the employer may request from the eligible male employee a signed written statement stating that the employee is the father of the child, the name of the mother and the expected or actual date of delivery of the child.

An eligible male employee is entitled to take paternity leave any time from four weeks before the expected date of delivery to 10 weeks following the actual date of delivery. All five paternity leave days may be taken at once or separately.

To be entitled to paternity leave pay, the employee must have been continuously employed for at least 40 weeks prior to the date of the paternity leave, subject to the employee submitting satisfactory documentation to the employer. Paternity leave pay will remain at four-fifths of the employee’s average daily wage. Paternity leave is in addition to rest days, holidays and annual leave to which an employee is entitled.

The Amendment Ordinance will commence on a date to be appointed by the Secretary of Labour & Welfare, and is expected to come into effect at the earliest by the Lunar New Year.

For further information on the paternity leave in Hong Kong and other employment law related matters, please do not hesitate to contact our solicitors.

Contacts:

Andrea Randall, Partner
Tel +852 3405 7630
andrearandall@gallhk.com

Joni Wong, Associate
Tel +852 3405 7616
joniwong@gallhk.com

Wilson Cheung, Associate
Tel +852 3405 7658
wilsoncheung@gallhk.com

All material contained in this article are provided for general information purposes only and should not be construed as legal, accounting, financial or tax advice or opinion on any specific facts or circumstances and should not be relied upon in that regard. Gall accepts no responsibility for any loss or damage arising directly or indirectly from action taken, or not taken, which may arise from reliance on information contained in this article. You are urged to seek legal advice concerning your own situation and any specific legal question that you may have. For employment law matters, please feel free to make enquiries with Andrea Randall (andrearandall@gallhk.com / +852 3405 7688), Joni Wong (joniwong@gallhk.com / +852 3405 7616).